Apple Now Locking Screenshots for Submitted Apps, Shutting Down Popular Scam Tactic

Juli Clover, reporting for Mac Rumors:

Apple today announced on its Developer Portal that screenshots added to app descriptions will be locked in place once an app has been approved. […] This small but important update shuts down a widely used scam tactic, where developers would upload game screenshots to get an app approved by Apple and then switch them out with screenshots from another popular app.

Panic detailed one of these scam apps a few weeks ago. Worth noting, though, that this change is a pain in the ass for legitimate developers — any change to your app’s screenshots now requires a full submission/review process.

Wednesday, 9 January 2013

Ads via The Deck Ads via The Deck